Make Code-Micro Bit


In the above gallery is my micro bit game with the block codes, showing the start and movements of the game itself .It also demonstrates how its seen on the micro bit.

In my First couple lessons of Interactive Games Design (Level 3) we were using things called micro bits. and had to think of some simple games to work onto them.

Using the micro bits was the first time for me, I had never really knew what they were before this. While using them I used the Microsoft make code sites.This made it simpler as it used the codes as blocks. It was similar to Scratch and had a drag and drop box like way of writing out the code for whatever you were doing to the micro bit, this is why before hand I was tasked to think of a game that could work on a 5×5 grid with only limited buttons and methods, as this was later used to transfer into the micro bit to create said game for this.

At first I struggled to think of any kind of game that could work on a 5×5 grid with the circumstances given, I had rough ideas but no solid thought out one. By the time it came to using make code I decide to go with one of my ideas I spent the most time on, that was developed the most .The chase/Runaway game.

For this game I looked up ways to code certain aspects of it wherever I was stuck or came into a problem where something wouldn’t work and mostly along the way played around with the steps until I had a rough idea of what I was doing ad what to use where to make it work and run through efficiently.

For my game I 1st made it into a game where you had to run away or escape the enemy, the controls where achieved by tilting as there were only 2 buttons and I couldn’t have access to full movement in all directions best in this easy so chose tilt.I changed the speed to best suit it. to differentiate the player from the enemy I made the enemy LED blink. Whenever the game was started I had made it so the player always spawned in the same place (LED) and the enemy in a random. this is similar to how I achieved the enemies movement as I couldn’t figure out how to make it exactly follow the player I made it just move across the gird randomly.I also attempted to add a life system in where the counter would go down each time caught and display the appropriate number followed by a heart icon. However I could not get it to carry on counting down after the first number change so had help from a fellow student ,in this to have some outside help from someone who was working on something different is good as its an unbiased opinion and they may see it in a different light and spot a solution to your problem along with other mistakes, it may even help them with any problems they’re having.

After this I had feedback through a sort of play testing, and with the feedback given made multiple changes and decisions about my game,i’ll go into play testing more onto its own post.


No comments to show.

Leave a comment